Absolute Positioning & Module Drop-Down Menus
Last Post 09/19/2007 6:09 AM by Lee Sykes. 2 Replies.
Author Messages
Fred Peacock
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:2


--
09/11/2007 2:30 PM  
First off, love the site!  Thanks for making such a wealth of information about DNN available. 



Just a question about absolute CSS positioning of content panes and the placement of the module menus.

I use CSS for positioning in my skins, but when I use any kind of CSS positioning on a div I want to put a module into, the drop-down menu on modules gets bumped way down the page. 

Using the opposing float method, there's no issues, but as soon as I tell any content pane div to be absolutely positioned 20 px from the left or 10 px from the top of a wrapper div or otherwise, the module menu breaks.

I'm using the House of Nuke menu and the XHTML Transitional 1.0 Doctype and confirmed the doctype by looking at the page info in Firefox.  The issue occurs in both IE and Firefox, so browser compatibility issues are out of the question, right?

Have you ever run across this?  I'm sure it can't be something nobody has ever dealt with before...




Here's the HTML code I'm working with:


   
   

   
   

   

        <div id="contentpane" runat="server" visible="false">

   






And the styles:

#mainbody
{
 position:relative;
    width: 100%;
}
#menu
{
 position:absolute;
 top:0px;
 left:0px;
    width: 180px;
}
#sidebar
{
 position:absolute;
 top:0px;
 left:190px;   
 width: 210px;
}
#content
{
 position:absolute;
 top:0px;
 left:410px;
    width: 490px; 
}

Any suggestions you could lend would be amazing.  Thanks in advance!

-Dustin.
Fred Peacock
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:2


--
09/11/2007 2:41 PM  

Oops, sorry about the HTML messing up in the previous post. 

I'm not sure how to escape out the code, so here's an image of the HTML code:



Thanks again!

-Dustin.

Lee Sykes
DNN Creative Staff
Nuke Master VI
Nuke Master VI
Posts:4945


--
09/19/2007 6:09 AM  
Hello,

Did you manage to solve your problem?  I have used absolute positioning for a banner pane while the rest of the panes are floating and I had no problem with the position of the module menu in that pane.

what are you using for your container code? - perhaps that is where the problem is occurring?
Lee Sykes
Site Administrator
Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile


---