#HouseMenuNavCurrentItem - still not working
Last Post 08/29/2007 10:18 AM by kurt. 4 Replies.
Author Messages
kurt
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:4


--
08/23/2007 12:13 AM  
hey all, the CurrentItemid is not working for my HouseMenu. i have researched prior to this post and nothing i have tried has worked for me. i am all out of ideas so if anyone has a thought as to what i need to do, please let me know. here is the code for my menu: #HouseMenuNav { width: 100%; font-size: 12px; text-align: center; height: 50px; font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; background-color: #FFFFFF; } #HouseMenuNav ul { padding: 0; margin: 0; padding-top: 12px; list-style: none; float: left; border: 0; background-color: transparent; } #HouseMenuNav li { list-style: none; float: left; width: 108px; height: 50px; background-image: url(navOFF.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-color: transparent; } #HouseMenuNav li a:link, #HouseMenuNav li a:visited { display: block; width: 108px; height: 50px; color: #005581; text-decoration: none; padding: 15px 0 0 0; background-color: transparent; } #HouseMenuNav li a:hover { width: 108px; height: 50px; background-image: url(navON.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-color: transparent; color: #FFFFFF; } #HouseMenuNavCurrentItem { width: 108px; height: 50px; background-image: url(navON.gif); background-repeat: no-repeat; background-color: transparent; cursor: default; }
Lee Sykes
DNN Creative Staff
Nuke Master VI
Nuke Master VI
Posts:4945


--
08/23/2007 4:16 PM  
Hello,

I find it hard to go through code without seeing a live example to edit, so here is some code that I used which comes from the 3rd menu in this tutorial:
How to create Horizontal CSS menus in DotNetNuke using the HouseMenu

You have to be really careful with the currentitem element as I found that other elements specified before in the HouseMenuNav class can easily override the colors specified for the currentitem. - You may find it easier to experiment with the web developers toolbar and strip out elements at a time.

Troubleshooting DotNetNuke Skins

The code below should help you solve your problem though.


(This is just for the main menu, not the sub menu)
/* Horizontal Menu */
#HouseMenuNav
{
    /*menu wrapper div */
    margin-left: 50px;
    font: bold 100% Arial, Tahoma, Verdana, Helvetica, Sans-Serif;
}

#HouseMenuNav ul
{
    padding: 0;
    margin: 0;
    list-style: none;
    float: left;
}
#HouseMenuNav ul
{  
    border: 0;
    background-image: url(buttons/button_sm.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-color: #95353D;
}

#HouseMenuNav li
{
    list-style: none;
    float: left;
}
#HouseMenuNav li a:link, #HouseMenuNav li a:visited
{
    display: block;
    color: #FFF;
    text-decoration: none;
    padding: 4px 1em;
    border-right: 1px solid #711515;
}

#HouseMenuNav li a:hover
{
    background-image: url(buttons/button_hover_sm.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-color: #711515;
    color: #FFF;
}

#HouseMenuNavCurrentLink
{
    background-image: url(buttons/button_selected_sm.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-x;
    background-color: #ED9F9F;
    cursor: default;
}
Lee Sykes
Site Administrator
Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile
kurt
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:4


--
08/24/2007 2:57 PM  
thanks for the response. i will keep trying to work the issue. if you want to see what's happening, the url is: www.oliminc.com
Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667


--
08/25/2007 12:45 PM  
Besides that, you've got a very nice looking site.

I'm wondering how much of this you did yourself?

Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support
kurt
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:4


--
08/29/2007 10:18 AM  
i just created everything in photoshop and flash. thanks for the compliment! still trying to nail it down so it displays properly in all browsers. should be up by the end of the week.


---