Google Analtics and Site Re-directs
Last Post 12/03/2014 6:43 PM by Joseph Craig. 8 Replies.
Author Messages
Ronald Drexler
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:38


--
11/12/2014 1:48 PM  
We have a new site up and running along with Google analytics.
We set up Google analytics thru DNN - and it seems to be working except for Google analytics not tracking people who are using old links.
We originally had the site set up as W2.accuratetechnologies.com, and then www.accuratetechnologies.com which is current.
We did not use the DNN SSL setup - but instead used IIS to make whole site HTTPs.
And any people who come thru our firewall with the wrong url - we re-direct them.
But it seems that Google analytics is not capturing people hitting our site when they have the wrong url.
What can be done about this?
Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667


--
11/12/2014 2:59 PM  
Since GA runs on your pages, any redirects that are done in IIS are not going to be recognized by GA. At least that's how I understand it.

What you want to do is have the old URLs available in your site, have them redirected to the correct pages by DNN.

If it's simple a URL change with the same page names, you can add a site alias to the old URL, and use DNN's redirection (See the site alias section) to remap them with permanent redirects.

You can also create pages that have old page names that redirect to new pages.

There are some other URL management functions that I have never used ...

Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support
Ronald Drexler
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:38


--
11/12/2014 3:35 PM  
OK - I think I understand.
But we also have ssl enabled through IIS.
Can we enable it site wise or page wise thru dnn.
Do you guys have any videos on this - or can you provide me the info?
Ronald Drexler
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:38


--
11/12/2014 3:41 PM  
Here are all the re-directs we are doing - how can I do all of these thru dnn?

if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() == "www.accuratetechnologies.com")
redirectpage("https://" + window.location.hostname + window.location.pathname + window.location.search + window.location.hash);
else if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() == "support.accuratetechnologies.com")
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com/support");
else if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() == "fileexchange.accuratetechnologies.com")
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com/fileexchange");
else if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() + window.location.pathname.toLowerCase() == "www.accuratetechnologies.com/support")
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com/support");
else if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() == "w2.accuratetechnologies.com")
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com" + window.location.pathname + window.location.search + window.location.hash);
else
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com");
Ronald Drexler
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:38


--
11/17/2014 3:57 PM  
anyone there?
Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667


--
11/18/2014 11:24 AM  
Ron,

I'll try my best to look at this in the next day or two.

In the meantime, take a look at Host, Advanced Settings, Friendly URL settings and also URL Adapter from DNNSharp.com. The latter may be more what you need.

Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support
Ronald Drexler
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:38


--
11/18/2014 12:16 PM  
Thanks for your response Joe,

I have been looking into all the re-directs and found that I can use the site alias setting for everything except for two re-directs.
They are:

else if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() == "support.accuratetechnologies.com")
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com/support");
else if (window.location.hostname.toLowerCase() == "fileexchange.accuratetechnologies.com")
redirectpage("https://www.accuratetechnologies.com/fileexchange");


From my understanding, setting DNN admin settings (below) along with setting every page ssl enabled will re-direct http to https :

1) ssl enabled
2) ssl enforced


Ronald Drexler
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:38


--
12/03/2014 10:00 AM  
Hi Joe,

I downloaded and installed the URL Adapter from DNN Sharp - and it broke the ability to add any new modules to a page.
Any other suggestions?
Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667


--
12/03/2014 6:43 PM  
Yes, get in touch with DNN Sharp and see if they can diagnose and correct the problem. My guess is that they will be able to do this quickly and that they will do it very professionally.

My personal experience with DNN Sharp's tech support is that it is quite good. My personal opinion of DNN Sharp is that they are a first rate vendor of quality products.

As an aside, I got to meet Bogdan Litescu last month at the DNNCon meeting in Florida. Bogdan is one of the new "MVP" awardees in the DNN Community, so I know that my opinion coincides with others' opinions.

Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support


---