Seperate SubMenu
Last Post 07/25/2010 1:55 PM by Mischa Bommer. 6 Replies.
Author Messages
Direct Access
Nuker
Nuker
Posts:14


--
06/24/2010 8:59 AM  
Hi there, Working on a skin here and running into a problem. This particular skin has a header, 3 column and footer layout. My header also contains the skins main menu. Now so far so good... For the sub menu i wanted to add a second menu to the left column. So I added a HouseMenu to the left column and put it in 'static' mode with a scope of 0. The works as when I open up a main item it's children nicely appear in the left column. The problem i face is that when on of these pages is opened the submenu disappear (as they aren't children anymore obviously). Does anyone have a work around on this?
Direct Access
Nuker
Nuker
Posts:14


--
06/24/2010 9:09 AM  
In addition:

I have been working on a solution... The HouseMenu's read me files state the following:

Scope (focus or root level of the menu): -1 for entire site; 0 for children of active page; n for children of tab with id n

There for I tried adding this for the scope property:

<%=IIf(PortalSettings.ActiveTab.ParentId < 0, 0, PortalSettings.ActiveTab.ParentId)%>

Unfortunately this does not work. The code does return 0 or the parentid, but the HouseMenu won't display accordingly. When I hardcode one of the parent id's things do seem to work though...

Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667


--
06/26/2010 1:56 PM  
If you are using a relatively current version of DotNetNuke, I highly recommend the menu available from DNNGarden.com.

Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support
Direct Access
Nuker
Nuker
Posts:14


--
07/16/2010 5:12 AM  

Hello Joseph

Thank you for you reply, however, i've been working with the menu availible from DNNGarden and find it a disaster...

I believe this indeed might be a menu with a lot more possibilities, but it is very poorly documented (if you can call it documented at all).

Anyway, your answer is very much appreciated, but sadly not that helpfull at the moment.

Is there any menu, not necessarily free, with proper documentation that is higly valued?

Kind regards,
Maurits

Direct Access
Nuker
Nuker
Posts:14


--
07/16/2010 5:56 AM  

SOLUTION

Of course I haven't been waiting for answers and spend an enormous amount of time searching the web for an answer...

As it looks this has finally paid off!!!

Adding the following to the HouseMenu will do the trick nicely:

scope="<%#PortalSettings.ActiveTab.BreadCrumbs(PortalSettings.ActiveTab.Level - 1).TabID%>"

Seems I was close enough with my solution as I posted earlier, but this works for me!

Special thanks to J. B. for his post at the HuseMenu forums

http://www.houseofnuke.com/Forums/t...fault.aspx

WinXnet
Nuke Master
Nuke Master
Posts:156


--
07/21/2010 12:06 PM  
The most flexible menu I have found so far is xnav - we have a site that has 7 custom submenus maintained by the owner!

There is a bit of a learning curve when you start customizing the templates and working in the back end, but any questions I directed to the module creators was answered within 24 hours. The one thing you need to remember is that the css is dynamically created - so you need to alter the Theme Template for the css of the menu, not the css file itself. Any edits you make will be overwritten by the Theme template when the module loads.

The newer rollout is easier to manage for the user from the front endn than the first version I saw. I beleive the documentation has improved as well.

^_^
http://www.winxnet.com Emerson Bruce - http://chayadigital.wordpress.com
Mischa Bommer
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:1


--
07/25/2010 1:55 PM  
This is exactly what i was looking for. But it renders a error on my skin, saying that the skin could not load. but puting it in the pageload event solves the problem
[script removed]
    Private Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load
        If PortalSettings.ActiveTab.ParentId <> -1 Then
            sidemenu.Scope = PortalSettings.ActiveTab.BreadCrumbs(PortalSettings.ActiveTab.Level - 1).TabID
        End If
    End Sub 
[script removed]


---