Flash with drop down navigation
Last Post 04/20/2010 10:20 AM by ajaramillo. 3 Replies.
Author Messages
jimy55
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:1


--
02/26/2010 8:57 AM  
Our drop down menus (from the navigation bar) fall behind a Flash image. How can we get the menus to appear on top of the Flash image? Visit our site at www.americanchurch.com to get a better idea of what I'm asking. The large image on the home page was originally intended to be Flash, but the drop down menus would disappear behind it. I'm a DNN newbie and have no web site experience. Trying to learn HTML and DotNetNuke. I have a print designer background.
Lee Sykes
DNN Creative Staff
Nuke Master VI
Nuke Master VI
Posts:4945


--
02/26/2010 10:26 AM  
 Hello,

Usually you would do this by adding z-index into your CSS code. However, looking at your CSS code you already have this:

.acMenuSubmenu {background-color: #f2cb80;
                    padding: 7px 0px;
                    z-index: 1000;
                    cursor: hand;
                    white-space: nowrap;
                    line-height: normal;
                    font-size: .8em;
                    text-align: left;}

.acMenuSubmenu td {padding: 4px 5px;}

Perhaps you could try adding a z-index to the flash and set it to a value of 1?

Does anyone else have any tips?
Lee Sykes
Site Administrator
Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile
Mark Allan
Nuker
Nuker
Posts:16


--
02/26/2010 11:15 AM  
The first thing to check is that your Flash is set to windowless mode by setting WMODE to "opaque" or "transparent" - see http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/155/tn_15523.html. If you've got that set OK, then start playing with your z-indexes to get everything in the right order (and note that there is a bug in IE6 and IE7 where you have to specify a z-index for all an element's positioned parents, see e.g. http://webdemar.com/webdesign/super...ndex-bug/, so be sure to test in IE7!).

Mark Allan (@MarkXA)

DNN Garden, home of the DDRMenu free DotNetNuke menu module

ajaramillo
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:1


--
04/20/2010 10:20 AM  
Thanks for the tip!  Worked great in IE, still having a problem with this particular issue only in Firefox (version 3.6.3).  Anyone have a work-around to share?


---