.DNNEmptyPane class usage
Last Post 10/28/2009 5:33 PM by Joseph Craig. 11 Replies.
Author Messages
Lillian
Nuke Active Member
Nuke Active Member
Posts:26


--
10/28/2009 8:21 AM
    .DNNEmptyPane class works wonderfully in DNN 5.1 but I can't seem to use it with older version.  Is there a way to use this class?
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    10/28/2009 9:03 AM
    As that is "just" a CSS class, you can certainly use it. The question is: how?

    I would look around to see how it is used in DotNetNuke 5.1. Presumably, that class gets assigned dynamically to panes that have no content. It is probably in code, or at least in javascript/jquery.

    -added--------------

    It is defined in default.css and in Minimal Extropy's skin.css.  It is used in ControlPanel.js.


    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support
    Lillian
    Nuke Active Member
    Nuke Active Member
    Posts:26


    --
    10/28/2009 9:07 AM
    It does work in DNN 5.1 but it wont work in older version. I need to get it to work in the older version. right now I have
    .DNNEmptyPane
    { width: 0px; display:none; border:none; padding:0px; margin:0px; height:0px; } at the bottom of style sheet. What else do I need to do?
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    10/28/2009 9:13 AM
    You need to apply that class to an object to make it shrink to nothing.  You'll need to determine which objects need it, and then set their class to it. 

    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support
    Lillian
    Nuke Active Member
    Nuke Active Member
    Posts:26


    --

                        <td valign="top" id="LeftPane" class="LeftPane"  runat="server">
                                                        Type="Tabs" ExcludeTabs="Admin,Host" runat="server" />
                        <td valign="top" id="ContentPane" class="ContentPane" runat="server">
                        <td valign="top" id="RightPane" class="RightPane" runat="server">
                   


    my menu wont show? would this code work?


    10/28/2009 11:30 AM
    I read somewhre that DNN adds "DNNEmptyPane" to the class of an empty pane (no modules added). so if I have a code like this,

                   
    Lillian
    Nuke Active Member
    Nuke Active Member
    Posts:26


    --

    <td valign="top" id="LeftPane" class="LeftPane" runat="server">
    Type="Tabs" ExcludeTabs="Admin,Host" runat="server" />
    <td valign="top" id="ContentPane" class="ContentPane" runat="server">
    <td valign="top" id="RightPane" class="RightPane" runat="server">
    10/28/2009 11:38 AM
    would this code work with DNNEmptyPane?

    Lillian
    Nuke Active Member
    Nuke Active Member
    Posts:26


    --
    10/28/2009 11:38 AM
    i tried to copy paste my code, but why is it coming up like that? it wont show.  anyway, I'm using snapsis menu on my site and i have left, right, and content pane.  I have third level menu code embed in left pane.  is this going to work with DNNEmptypane? since it collapses pane that dont have module?
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    10/28/2009 11:55 AM
    I found some discussion here.

    From that thread, it seems that versions after 4.6 use that class.  And, it seems to be injected automatically.

    If you are having trouble, it might be helpful to you to ask additional questions in that thread.

    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support
    Lillian
    Nuke Active Member
    Nuke Active Member
    Posts:26


    --
    10/28/2009 2:18 PM
    oh thank you. I'll check that out. I have other question. How do you create right content that stays in every page. So that if i make a change in that module, it'll take that change in every page
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    10/28/2009 2:20 PM
    Create the module contents and then, in the module's settings, check the box so that the module appears on every page.

    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support
    marianne
    Nuke Newbie
    Nuke Newbie
    Posts:4


    --
    10/28/2009 4:44 PM
    I'm using version 04.05.03 of the community version. and I am very new to DNN. I added an Events module to a page and the module indicates in red "Please update module settings...contact Portal Admin." When i go to the setting of the module it gives me the message "Error: Module is currently unavailable." I then went to Host/Module Definitions and verified that the Events is an installed Module. Under Available modules there are no modules listed that have not been installed. Could you give me any helpful information?
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    10/28/2009 5:33 PM
    First, I recommend that you use a current version of DotNetNuke. Version 5.1.4 is the most recent version. If you have to stay with Version 4.x, then you will want to use 4.9.4. It's likely that the version of the Events Module you have is not compatible with the old version of DotNetNuke.

    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support


    ---