active tabs with housemenu
Last Post 03/12/2009 9:12 AM by Joseph Craig. 10 Replies.
Author Messages
Turoc
Nuke Newbie
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6


--
06/26/2007 9:48 AM
    Hi there

    I am new to using Housemenu, and was wondering if there is a way to show active tabs in housemenu ?

    Much like solpart does - if you are on a page, and then view the menu dropdown that has the link to that page - it is indicated with an arrow or a different colour defined in the css.

    Can this be done with housemenu ?

    I have been slowly working my way through your tuts and I must say - GREAT STUFF !!! Please keep it coming

    Thanks
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    06/26/2007 11:58 AM
    I'm not Lee, and I'm certainly not a House Menu guru but ... yes ... it can be done.

    I'm guessing that you need to apply a style to the active tab in the skin's CSS file to do that, but Lee will tell you exactly how to do it.

    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support
    Lee Sykes
    DNN Creative Staff
    Nuke Master VI
    Nuke Master VI
    Posts:4945


    --
    06/26/2007 1:07 PM
    Hello,

    Glad to hear you find the tutorials useful. - The active tab is called using:

    #HouseMenuNavCurrentItem id - so for instance in a skin I am currently working on I have:

    #HouseMenuNavCurrentItem a {
    background:#f0f0f0 url(img/menuhover.jpg) top left repeat-x;
    color:#505050;
    text-decoration:none;
    }

    which styles any links fo the CurrentItem id. - CurrentItem is added to the name of the CSS class that you have specified for the housemenu, if you have followed the tutorials it should be named: #HouseMenuNavCurrentItem

    If you want to explore and research any further ids / classes and styling such as this check out:
    Troubleshooting DotNetNuke Skins

    Thanks,
    Lee Sykes
    Site Administrator
    Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

    Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

    Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile
    Turoc
    Nuke Newbie
    Nuke Newbie
    Posts:6


    --
    06/26/2007 1:33 PM
    Hi Lee

    Thanks for the help - it has sorted my problem out. One question - is it level specific or can it be applied through different levels - ie from a parent to a child - does that make sense ?

    Rgds
    Ussama Mahdi
    Nuke Newbie
    Nuke Newbie
    Posts:2


    --
    06/26/2007 2:57 PM
    Hi!
    I have already have emailed you guys abt the same issue.
    I need to add a question, when the child tab active the parent tab bk-picture stay on active bk-picture?
    thanks
    Lee Sykes
    DNN Creative Staff
    Nuke Master VI
    Nuke Master VI
    Posts:4945


    --
    06/27/2007 10:07 AM
    I've just run a test and it appears as though it works through several levels in the red leaf skin. - It's probably worth saying that there are 2 ids on the current menu page which you maybe able to make use of:

    #HouseMenuNavCurrentItem

    and

    #HouseMenuNavCurrentLink

    Thanks,
    Lee Sykes
    Site Administrator
    Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

    Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

    Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile
    Lee Sykes
    DNN Creative Staff
    Nuke Master VI
    Nuke Master VI
    Posts:4945


    --
    06/27/2007 10:08 AM
    TSA3000 - hello, I don't quite follow what your question is, could you provide further information? Thanks,
    Lee Sykes
    Site Administrator
    Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

    Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

    Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile
    Ussama Mahdi
    Nuke Newbie
    Nuke Newbie
    Posts:2


    --
    06/28/2007 11:01 AM
    Yeah sorry,
    My question is, how can i change the background of the parent tab button on the housemenu to active when the child page of the same parent page is active?
    Lee Sykes
    DNN Creative Staff
    Nuke Master VI
    Nuke Master VI
    Posts:4945


    --
    06/30/2007 2:59 AM
    ok I understand now, unfortunately there is not an easy way to do this, as there is not a generic ID available for assigning a CSS class.

    Each menu item however has its own unique ID, if you use the web developers toolbar you can use the toolbar to identify all of the ideas in the menu. ( checkout: Troubleshooting DotNetNuke Skins)

    The only option is to create a separate skin for each of the main parent tabs, and then within the skinname.CSS file add some CSS to target the unique ID of the parent tab. - This is the only way I think you can do it and it's pretty messy and time consuming

    Your other option could be to display breadcrumbs which will allow the users to easily identify their location without needing to highlight the parent element, thanks
    Lee Sykes
    Site Administrator
    Subscribe to the website : DotNetNuke Video Tutorials : The Skinning Toolkit : DotNetNuke Podcasts

    Twitter: www.twitter.com/DNNCreative

    Lee Sykes's Facebook Profile
    Guilherme
    Nuke Newbie
    Nuke Newbie
    Posts:1


    --
    03/12/2009 8:18 AM
    Hi there!

    Try adding the style using javascript, I used the following method:

    Hiding SubItems Using CSS:

    #HouseMenuNav li li
    {
    display: none;
    }

    Showing Current Item SubItems Using CSS:

    #HouseMenuNavCurrentItem ul li
    {
    display: block;
    }

    And then showing same level subitems using

    var li = document.getElementById('<%="HouseMenuNavItem" & PortalSettings.ActiveTab.ParentID%>').lastChild;
    var m = li.childNodes;
    var i;
    for (i = 0; i<=m.length; i = i + 2) {
    m.item(i).style.display = 'block';
    }

    Hope it helps...

    RGDS
    Joseph Craig
    DNN MVP
    Posts:11667


    --
    03/12/2009 9:12 AM
    Thank you for the contribution!

    Joe Craig, Patapsco Research Group
    Complete DNN Support


    ---